top of page

Book Review

My favorite book is Lock and Key by Sarah Dessen. The genre of this book is young adult and it was published by Vikings Children's Books. Dessen has a creative way of writing that keeps the reader interested. I have read most of her books and in my opinion they are great.

The main character is a teenager who is months away from being an adult named Ruby. Her mother has the same name which is symbolic to how they are similar, but differ in the choices they make. Her mother struggles with alcoholism and isn't the greatest parent. Throughout the novel Ruby is learning how to deal with her mother's problems and how to fend for herself. Her life gets better when a nice family adopted her.

As I was reading Lock and Key I enjoyed each page and wanted to keep turning. I related to the message Dessen was conveying and developed a sense of urgency to finish reading the novel.

One of my favorite parts of the book was the ending. Ruby is finally in a happy place and learns the importance of letting go, but not forgetting. She drops a key inside of a lake. The key goes to her old house and the lakes is at her adopted families house.

Another one of my favorite parts was when Ruby finally developed a relationship with her adoptive parents and they became closer. When this happened Ruby saw how a family should be.

My last favorite part of the book is when Ruby gets a job at the mall after she comes to live with her adoptive parents. Ruby wears a key around her neck that belongs to the house that her mother lived in and decorated it. As she was working at the jewelry kiosk many people saw her key necklace and liked it. Her idea was very creative, so she started to make and sell key necklaces at the kiosk.

Lock and Key was a book that spoke to me. I asked my dad to read the book too because I enjoyed it very much. After he read the book, he understood why I liked it. For my birthday my dad gave me a necklace with a key pendant on it representing the book.

If I could recommend Lock and Key, I would recommend it to teenage girls who like stories they can relate to. Dessen has written many novels that young adults can relate to.


Follow Us
  • Twitter Basic Black
  • Facebook Basic Black
  • Black Google+ Icon
Recent Posts
bottom of page