top of page

Movie Review

My favorite movie is Love and Basketball it came out in April of 2000. The director and person who did the screenplay is Gina Prince-Bythewood. The genre of this movie is a romantic drama staring Sanaa Lathan and Omar Epps who play the roles of Monica Wright and Quincy McCall.

This movie makes me think about the different aspects in life. I like how this movie includes a sport that both characters enjoy which brings their love together. The characters fall in love while trying to pursue their careers in basketball. One of the things that made this my favorite movie was how the two characters were next door neighbors, became friends and then that is where their love story began.

I have multiple favorite scenes of this movie they are when Monica and Quincy have the moments that shows their friendship and love. My first favorite scene is when they both support each other at their basketball games in high school. Another one of my favorite scenes is when Quincy's parents are arguing, so he goes over to his next door neighbor and best friends house (Monica) to get away from the noise, for comfort and to go to sleep. My last favorite scene is when Monica and Quincy test their love and play basketball towards the end of the movie to win each other back after falling off.

I would recommend this movie to people who enjoy an entertaining romance. I would say it is for ages fourteen and up. The story has a slight twist and it is more creative than other love stories. While watching this movie viewers will start to develop a protagonist.

I would give this movie a five star rating because it engages viewers and as you watch the movie you are wondering what is going to happen next. I think this movie teaches a great lesson to teenagers who are becoming young adults.


Follow Us
  • Twitter Basic Black
  • Facebook Basic Black
  • Black Google+ Icon
Recent Posts
bottom of page